How to Become a Security Guard in Arkansas
The Natural State is quickly becoming a prime tourism location and is home to many major corporations, making it a prime place for security guard jobs. Whether you’re looking to become an armed or unarmed guard, Arkansas has rigorous standards to be in the security industry and to receive your security license.
Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Arkansas
There are some basic requirements to consider to become an unarmed security license in Arkansas. Applicants must:
- be at least 21 years old
- be a U.S. citizen
- not have been convicted of felonies, Class A misdemeanors, any crime involving an act of violence, or any crime involving moral turpitude if a pardon has not been granted
- submit to a background check for the ARBI and the FBI
- complete mandatory training courses
Before getting your security license, you must complete six hours of training in legal authority, familiarity of Arkansas rules and regulations, and field note taking and report writing. Fees to become an unarmed security guard in Arkansas total $77.50.
Armed Security Guard Requirements in Arkansas
Requirements to become an armed security guard are slightly different from those of an unarmed security guard. In addition to the above, applicants must:
- submit fingerprints
- take and pass the required examination and qualification
- not have been convicted of a felony, any sexual offense, or any crime that would question the honesty and integrity of the person
There is a 10-hour armed security guard training course that will cover force laws, legal limitations on the use of firearms, legal authority, and general weapon safety. Armed security guards must renew their licenses annually and take a four-hour refresher course. Fees total $77.50.
Licensing Body: Arkansas Board of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies
Law: Chapter 0780-5-2-.24