How to Become a Security Guard in Connecticut
Security guard licensing in Connecticut, also known as the “Constitution State,” is managed by the Connecticut State Police. While Connecticut is the third smallest state by area, it’s also the 29th most populous and fourth most densely populated, creating a strong need for security guards in cities like New Haven, Stamford, and Bridgeport
Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Connecticut
An unarmed security guard license must be renewed every five years. There are a few basic security guard requirements in Connecticut to be met. Applicants:
- must be at least 18 years old
- must complete a security guard training course that has been approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection
- must not have been convicted of a felony, sexual offense, or crime that questions honesty and integrity
The security guard training course covers issues such as legal issues and liability, use of force continuum, and terrorism. Licensing fees are $100.
Armed Security Guard Requirements in Connecticut
To become an armed security guard in the State of Connecticut, there are a few additional requirements. Applicants:
- must be at least 21 years of age.
- must provide employer with a set of passport-style pictures
- must provide employer a set of fingerprints on a standard FBI fingerprint card
- must meet and maintain the qualifications, including an eight-hour course that has been set and approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection
- upon completion of the course, the firearm instructor must sign off on the reverse side of the application form DPS-1030, and it must be submitted to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
- must hold a Connecticut State Pistol Permit (resident or non-resident)
Don’t wait to pursue a rewarding career as a security guard in Connecticut – begin training today. Once you’ve completed security guard requirements in Connecticut and become licensed, Security Resources is always searching for new talent to join our team.
Licensing Body: Connecticut State Police
Law: Connecticut Laws Chapter 534 Section 29