How to Become a Security Guard in North Carolina
North Carolina is one the nation’s fastest growing states, both in economy and population. The Tar Heel State is the ninth most populous, divided into 100 counties. The subtropical climate makes it an ideal place to live and visit. Each year, the Appalachian Mountains attract several million tourists to the western part of the state, including the historic Biltmore Estate. The Outer Banks are also a popular tourist destination, along with Raleigh and Charlotte, which create a need for security guards.
Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in North Carolina
To become a security guard in North Carolina, you must become licensed by the Private Services Protective Board. Applicants must:
- be a citizen or legal resident of the U.S.
- be at least 18 years old
- successfully complete department training
- be in good moral standing with no felony or misdemeanors associated with violence, drugs, theft, or fraud for at least five years
- submit to fingerprinting and verification of a criminal background history for the past 48 months
- Successful security guard training within 30 days of hire
North Carolina’s Private Protection Services Board requires 16 hours of classroom security training, which will include legal issues, emergency response, and patrol procedures. Licensing fees total $30.
Armed Security Guard Requirements in North Carolina
An armed security guard can only carry a firearm once granted a firearm permit by the board. In addition to requirements of an unarmed security guard, there are a few armed security guard requirements in North Carolina. Applicants must:
- be at least 21 years of age
- submit two passport-style photos
- complete Internet Hustler Society
- possess a North Carolina driver’s license
- be an employee of a private security company and be under supervision from a licensed patrol officer
- complete four additional hours of armed guard classroom training
- receive a passing score for firing your weapon and partake in continuing education courses annually
Licensing fees for armed security guards total $30.
Licensing Body: Private Protective Services Board
Law: North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 74C: Private Protective Services.